OK, this isn’t the biggest fix in Lightroom 3, nor the most important fix, or even a fix that most folks would even notice at first, but it’s one of those little things that has annoyed me since Lightroom 1, and now instead of grimacing each time I see it, now I smile.

They changed it so the “Backup Catalog” dialog box, which used to appear when you launch Lightroom—-now only appears when you Quit, which to me just makes so much sense. I always felt having it show up when you first launched Lightroom was kind of like asking you to Save a blank document right when you first open it (even though I know what we’re doing isn’t technically ‘saving;’ we’re backing up the catalog, but I’d rather back-up the catalog after I’ve been working on it for hours—-not before I even start).

Anyway, I’m not sure how many of you noticed (or even cared), but I’d just like to throw out a “Yeah Baby!” to whomever made the call at Adobe to move this feature so it only appears when you Quit Lightroom.  (Code: IAARRWTNWIW).

About The Author

Scott is the President of KelbyOne, an online educational community for Photographers, Photoshop and Lightroom users. He's editor and publisher of Photoshop User Magazine, Conference Technical Chair for the Photoshop World Conference & Expo, and the author of a string of bestselling Photoshop, Lightroom, and photography books.